Bookstore

Lettre autographe signée à François Diroys

1672

NICE LETTER ON EULOGIES

1 500 

1 in stock

Description

NICE LETTER ON EULOGIES

"At Versailles, November 20, 1672.

Sir,

I received your letter of 24th from the parish priest of Saint-Jacques-du-Haut-Pas; the one I had the honor of writing to you in the Friday ordinary will give you a full explanation of my intentions. After that, there is nothing left to do but to tire of doing as you have begun, since you are getting so well into the matter. I still have no reply from Mr. De Blancey's package, where I thought I had put my letter for you, which I have received.

The funeral oration of the Princess of Conti is indeed a piece full of piety and eloquence: it was highly esteemed, and I know that the illustrious prelate who made it will be very comfortable that it be approved again at Court. Since you wish to have the one I made for Madame, I am sending a few copies for you to the parish priest of Santiago. You will see that the one for the mother and the daughter have been printed together. It will be my great pleasure to present them on my behalf to His Eminence Cardinal Sigismund, and to the R.P. Master of the Sacred Palace. If you judge that the present is agreeable to some others, you may do so even in my name; I leave this to your prudence.

I dare to ask you again for your care for our version. If you think, when things are resolved, that I should give some gifts of books or the like to the translator, and some honesty to the printers to encourage them to do well, you will please ask me to do so, and I think I have already told you this by my previous letter.. It only remains to tell you that Father de Montagu has made an English version of my Exhibition, which has already been printed: you can tell this to Father Irlandais, of whom you speak to me. We have already worked on the Latin here; I will see it again, and we will talk about it when the Italian is done.

I find it very appropriate to put the passages of Scripture in Latin. But do we use them in the same way of those we mix in the discourse, and those we quote expressly? I leave it to you to decide according to the custom of the country; but above all the accuracy in the version. I am with all my heart, your most humble and affectionate servant.

J. Bénigne, a. é. De Condom."

Doctor of Sorbonne, theologian François Diroys or Dirois (1625 - 1690) was a Catholic personality from the English Channel. He was a master of the Little Schools of Port-Royal, like his brothers Etienne and Pierre, and followed the theology courses of Father Louis Thomassin. He distanced himself from his friends in Port-Royal, polemic harshly with Antoine Arnauld and Pierre Nicole, and later became a doctor of the Sorbonne in 1666. He then became the theologian of the future Cardinal César d'Estrées, and accompanied him to Rome on several occasions where he met Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz. He is the author of  Evidence and Prejudice for the Christian and Catholic Religion against False Religions and Atheism (1683).

Correspondence from Bossuet. Volume 1: 1651-1676, November 1672; n°68, 267-270.

1672.In-8,Three pages.

Trace of wetness.

Bio

Jacques-Bénigne Bossuet

(Dijon, Kingdom of France: 27 September 1627 - Paris, Kingdom of France: Death 12 April 1704)

Librairie

Lettre autographe signée à François Diroys

1672

BELLE LETTRE SUR LES ORAISONS FUNÈBRES

1 500 

1 en stock

Description

BELLE LETTRE SUR LES ORAISONS FUNÈBRES

"A Versailles, 20 novembre 1672.

Monsieur,

J’ai reçu par M. le curé de Saint-Jacques-du-Haut-Pas, votre lettre du 24 ; celle que je me suis donné l’honneur de vous écrire par l’ordinaire de vendredi, vous instruira à fond de mes intentions. Il n’y a plus après cela qu’à vous lasser faire comme vous avez commencé, puisque vous entrez si bien dans l’affaire. Je n’ai point encore de réponse du paquet de M. De Blancey, où je croyais avoir mis ma lettre pour vous, dont, j’ai reçu la réponse.

L’oraison funèbre de Madame la princesse de Conti est en effet une pièce pleine de piété et d’éloquence : elle a été fort estimée, et je sais que l’illustre prélat qui l’a faire sera très à l’aise qu’elle soit approuvée encore Cour. Puisque vous désirez avoir celle que j’ai faite pour Madame, j’en envoie quelques exemplaires pour vous à M. le curé de Saint-Jacques. Vous verrez qu’on y a imprimé ensemble celle de la mère et de la fille. Vous me ferez grand plaisir de les présenter de ma part à Monseigneur le cardinal Sigismond, et au R.P. Maître du sacré Palais. Si vous jugez que le présent en soit agréable à quelques autres, vous le pourrez faire même en mon nom ; je remets cela à votre prudence.

J’ose vous demander encore vos soins pour notre version. Si vous jugez, quand les choses seront résolues, que je doive faire quelques présent de livres, ou autres choses semblables, au traducteur, et quelque honnêteté aux imprimeurs pour les encourager à bien faire, vous me le manderez, s’il vous plait ; et je pense vous l’avoir déjà dit par ma précédente. Il ne reste qu’a vous dire que M. l’abbé de Montagu à fait une version anglaise de mon Exposition, qui est déjà imprimée : vous le pouvez dire au P. Irlandais, dont vous me parlez. Pour la latine, on y a déjà travaillé ici ; je la reverrai, et nous en parlerons quand l’italienne sera faire.

Je trouve fort à propos de mettre les passages de l’Écriture en latin. Mais en use-t-on de la même manière de ceux qu’on mêle dans le discours, et de ceux qu’on cite expressément ? Je vous le laisse à décider selon l’usage du pays ; mais surtout l’exactitude dans la version. Je suis de tout mon coeur, votre très humble et très affectionné serviteur.

J. Bénigne, a. é. De Condom."

Docteur de Sorbonne, théologien François Diroys ou Dirois (1625 - 1690) fut une personnalité catholique de la Manche.  Maîtres des Petites écoles de Port-Royal, comme ses frères Étienne et Pierre, il suivit les cours de théologie du père Louis Thomassin.  Il s'éloigne de ses amis de Port-Royal, polémique durement avec Antoine Arnauld et Pierre Nicole, et devient tardivement docteur de Sorbonne en 1666. Il devient ensuite le théologien du futur cardinal César d'Estrées, et  l'accompagne à Rome à plusieurs reprises et où rencontrera  Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz. Il est l'auteur des  Preuves et préjugés pour la Religion Chrétienne et Catholique contre les fausses religions et l'athéisme (1683).

Correspondance de Bossuet. Tome 1 : 1651-1676, novembre 1672; n°68, 267-270.

1672.In-8,3 pages.

Trace de mouillure.

Bio

Jacques-Bénigne Bossuet

(Dijon, Royaume de France : 27 septembre 1627 – Paris, Royaume de France : Décès 12 avril 1704)