Bookstore

Le cycle de Lord Chelsea

1923123 x 185 mm

Complete in 4 volumes
FROM THE LIBRARY OF THE BATTLESHIP RICHELIEU
4 signed autograph letters

250 

1 in stock

Description

Lord Chelsea cycle, complete in 4 volumes: The Suborner (completed on the date of the original, 2nd edition mentioned in the title), The Loyal Servant (first edition, current print run), Last and first love (first edition, current print run), The Trial of the Right Honourable Lord (first edition, current print run).

FROM THE LIBRARY OF THE BATTLESHIP RICHELIEU provenance "Cuirassé Richelieu" at the foot of the spine, handwritten note on the 1st white endpaper "Carré off[iciers] subalt[ernes] / Richelieu / 1035".
SIGNED AUTOGRAPH CONSIGNMENT for the library of the battleship Richelieu under the title of each work :

For the Richelieu library
Tribute from the author
Abel Hermant

The Richelieu, with its sister-ship the Jean Bart, was both the first 35,000-tonne battleship and the last French battleship. Built in 1935 to stand up to the Italian Littorio, she was originally designed only to operate in the Mediterranean - but on 14 June 1940, when the Richelieu was only 90% complete, the Germans bombarded the port of Brest. On 18 June, the battleship, still intact but still unfinished, left for Dakar. There, she was torpedoed and immobilised by the British. Under Vichy orders, she repelled Operation Menace in September, orchestrated by the British Royal Navy and Free France.
In 1943, under Allied control, the Richelieu sailed for New York to be repaired and modernised; passing under the Brooklyn Bridge forced the crew to dismantle the forward telepointer. The refitted Richelieu was designated to join the Eastern Fleet in the Indian Ocean. She took part in Operations Cockpit, Transom and Crimson. Her crew then fought against Japan alongside the East Indies Fleet, and were present at the Japanese surrender of Singapore on 12 September 1945. Finally, between October and December 1945, the Richelieu took part in the return of French forces to Indochina.
It was decommissioned in 1961 and scrapped 7 years later.

Paris,1923.4in-12,123 x 185 mm,206 pp. - 1] f. + 206 pp. - 1] f. + 209 pp. - 1] f. + 273 - [1] f. .

Red half-maroquin, spine ribbed with gilt title and provenance at foot "Cuirassé Richelieu", speckled edges, bookmark. Binding signed "Taffin" on the 1st white endpaper.
Corners rubbed, spine slightly oiled at head.

Bio

Abel Hermant

Antoine Joseph Abel Hermant

(Paris: 3 February 1862 - Chantilly: 28 September 1950)

See The Works

Librairie

Le cycle de Lord Chelsea

1923123 x 185 mm

Complet en 4 volumes
DE LA BIBLIOTHÈQUE DU CUIRASSÉ RICHELIEU
4 envois autographe signés

250 

1 en stock

Description

Cycle de Lord Chelsea, complet en 4 volumes : Le Suborneur (achevé d'imprimer à la date de l'originale, mention de 2e édition au titre), Le Loyal Serviteur (édition originale, tirage courant), Dernier et premier amour (édition originale, tirage courant), Le Procès du très honorable Lord (édition originale, tirage courant).

DE LA BIBLIOTHÈQUE DU CUIRASSÉ RICHELIEU : provenance "Cuirassé Richelieu" en pied du dos, mention manuscrite sur la 1e garde blanche "Carré off[iciers] subalt[ernes] / Richelieu / 1035"
ENVOI AUTOGRAPHE SIGNÉ pour la bibliothèque du cuirassé Richelieu au titre de chacun des ouvrages :

Pour la bibliothèque du Richelieu
Hommage de l'auteur
Abel Hermant

Le Richelieu, avec son sister-ship le Jean Bart, est à la fois le premier 35 000 tonnes et le dernier cuirassé français. Construit dès 1935 pour tenir tête aux Littorio italiens, il n'est originellement conçu que pour opérer en Méditerranée - mais le 14 juin 1940, alors que le Richelieu n'est terminé qu'à 90%, les allemands bombardent le port de Brest. Le 18 juin, le cuirassé, demeuré intact mais toujours inachevé, part pour Dakar. Là, il est torpillé et immobilisé par les britanniques. Passé sous les ordres de Vichy, il repousse en septembre l'Opération "Menace", orchestrée par la Marine royale britannique et la France libre.
En 1943, sous le contrôle des Alliés, le Richelieu appareille à New York pour y être réparé et modernisé ; le passage sous le pont de Brooklyn oblige l'équipage à démonter le télépointeur avant. Le Richelieu, refondu, est désigné pour rallier l'Eastern Fleet dans l'Océan indien. Il participe aux Opérations "Cockpit", "Transom" et "Crimson". Son équipage lutte ensuite contre le Japon aux côtés de l'East Indies Fleet ; il est présent à la capitulation japonaise de Singapour le 12 septembre 1945. Enfin, entre octobre et décembre 1945, le Richelieu participe au retour des forces françaises en Indochine.
Il est désarmé en 1961, et ferraillé 7 ans plus tard.

Paris,1923.4in-12,123 x 185 mm,206 pp. - [1] f. + 206 pp. - [1] f. + 209 pp. - [1] f. + 273 - [1] f. .

Demi-maroquin rouge, dos à nerfs avec titre doré et provenance en pied « Cuirassé Richelieu », tranches mouchetées, signet. Reliure signée « Taffin » sur la 1e garde blanche.
Coins frottés, dos légèrement insolé en tête.

Bio

Abel Hermant

Antoine Joseph Abel Hermant

(Paris : 3 février 1862 – Chantilly: 28 septembre 1950)

Voir Les Œuvres