Bookstore

Dedication copy

Les frères Zemganno

1879110 x 180 mm

ORIGINAL EDITON.
COPY OF JULIA ALPHONSE DAUDET'S BOOK.
AUTOGRAPHIC SENDING signed.

1 000 

1 in stock

Description

FIRST EDITION.

COPY OF JULIA ALPHONSE DAUDET DEDICATEE OF THE BOOKwet stamp ex-libris in black.

SEND SELF-EMPLOYMENT signed:

"Pending another copy and with indulgence...
for the faults which are numerous
Edmond de Goncourt"

The first work written without the collaboration of his brother Jules, who died in 1870, this "...".artist's portrait in acrobatics"is also considered the founder of"artistic writing"a phrase coined by Edmond de Goncourt in his preface, and prefigures The Manifesto of the Five published eight years later.

The author organized a reading of the manuscript in his study in Auteuil in front of Zola, Tourguéniev, Charpentier and Daudet, who wrote a report at La Revue de France on March 15, 1879.

The book dedicated to "Mrs. Alphonse Daudet"It was quickly sent to the dedicatee (without even waiting for the luxury prints to be printed), the latter having requested it in a letter dated 11 March. Edmond probably wanted to give the critics plenty of time to express themselves. Julia Daudet
wrote a touching article, under the pseudonym Karl Steen, in the Official Gazette of June 3, 1879.
On June 11, 1879, Goncourt thanked her: "I didn't thank you at first for your friendly article, because I was hoping to have dinner with you at the Carpenters'... [...] Your article, dear lady, is a very charming, poetic, moving analysis of my Zemganno and avenges me a little of the series of errands that fell on their backs."

The book had indeed received a few bad articles, notably that of Barbey d'Aurevilly in The Constitutional of May 12, 1879. Edmond de Goncourt, who made no secret of his contempt for literary women, was full of praise for Julia Daudet; she alone had "surprised their process, took apart their handwriting". Much later in 1910, in his Souvenirs around a literary groupJulia Daudet will write about the Zemganno Brothers: "it's a monument of brotherly love and the story of the Goncourt collaboration shattered by the death of the youngest".

Nice provenance.

Paris,Carpenter,1879.In-12, Bound,110 x 180 mm,375 pp.

Bound in contemporary style, black half-shell with covered corners, spine ribbed, gilt title, covers not preserved.

Ex-libris wet pad JAD don't forget on the White Guard.

Bio

Edmond de Goncourt

(born in Nancy on 26 May 1822 and died in Champrosay (Essonne) on 16 July 1896 in the house of Alphonse Daudet)

Librairie

Exemplaire de dédicace

Les frères Zemganno

1879110 x 180 mm

ÉDITON ORIGINALE .
EXEMPLAIRE DE JULIA ALPHONSE DAUDET DÉDICACTAIRE DE L’OUVRAGE.
ENVOI AUTOGRAPHE signé.

1 000 

1 en stock

Description

ÉDITION ORIGINALE.

EXEMPLAIRE DE JULIA ALPHONSE DAUDET DÉDICATAIRE DE L'OUVRAGE, timbre humide ex-libris en noir.

ENVOI AUTOGRAPHE signé:

"En attendant un autre exemplaire et avec indulgence
pour les fautes qui sont nombreuses
Edmond de Goncourt"

Première œuvre écrite sans la collaboration de son frère Jules mort en 1870, ce "portrait artiste en saltimbanque" est aussi considéré comme fondateur de "l’écriture artiste", expression inventée par Edmond de Goncourt dans sa préface, et préfigure Le Manifeste des cinq publié huit ans plus tard.

L'auteur organisa une lecture du manuscrit dans son cabinet de travail d'Auteuil devant Zola, Tourguéniev, Charpentier et Daudet qui en rédigea un compte rendu à La Revue de France le 15 mars 1879.

L'ouvrage dédié à "Madame Alphonse Daudet", parut le 30 avril 1879 et fut rapidement envoyé à la dédicataire (sans même attendre l'impression des tirages de luxe), cette dernière l'ayant réclamée dans une lettre du 11 mars. Edmond souhaitait probablement donner aux critiques tout le loisir pour s'exprimer. Julia Daudet
écrivit en effet un article touchant, sous le pseudonyme de Karl Steen, dans le Journal Officiel du 3 juin 1879.
Le 11 juin 1879, Goncourt la remercie : " Je ne vous ai pas remerciée tout d'abord pour votre amical article, parce que j'espérais dîner avec vous chez les Charpentier [...] Votre article, chère madame, est une analyse toute charmante, toute poétique, toute émue de mes Zemganno et me venge un peu de la série d'éreintements et qui leur sont tombés sur le dos."

L'ouvrage avait effectivement reçu quelques mauvais articles notamment celui de Barbey d'Aurevilly dans Le Constitutionnel du 12 mai 1879. Edmond de Goncourt, qui ne cachait pas son mépris pour les femmes littéraires, ne tarissait pas en éloges sur le compte de Julia Daudet ; elle seule avait "surpris leur procédé, démonté leur écriture". Bien plus tard en 1910, dans ses Souvenirs autour d'un groupe littéraire, Julia Daudet écrira à propos des Frères Zemganno : "c'est un monument d'amour fraternel et l'histoire de la collaboration des Goncourt brisée par la mort du plus jeune".

Belle provenance.

Paris,Charpentier,1879.In-12, Relié,110 x 180 mm,375 pp.

Reliure de l’époque, demi-chagrin noir à coins recouverts, dos à nerfs, titre doré, couvertures non conservées.

Tampon humide ex-libris JAD ne oubliez sur la garde blanche.

Bio

Edmond de Goncourt

(né à Nancy le 26 mai 1822 et mort à Champrosay (Essonne) le 16 juillet 1896 dans la maison d’Alphonse Daudet)