Bookstore

Lecture élémentaire

192885 x 125 mm

VERY RARE FIRST EDITION.
Inscribed and signed to Fernand Léger.

1 500 

1 in stock

Description

Lecture élémentaire, Algèbre des facilités et tout le roman des lettres

RARE FIRST EDITION.

The work is considered one of the earliest essays in "musical literature", thirty years before the first use of the term sound poetry.

Printed on May 29, 1928, this publication was quickly rammed by the printer, with the exception of a few copies given to the author and about sixty others bought by Jacques Povolozky. Povolozky marketed them by affixing the label of his publishing house on the title page instead of the Écrivains réunis, 11 rue de l'ancienne comédie, 11 Paris.

ONE OF THE VERY RARE AUTHOR'S COPIES WHOSE TITLE PAGE HAS REMAINED AT THE ADDRESS OF ÉCRIVAINS RÉUNIS.

Fernand Léger's copy, inscribed and signed by Michel Seuphor : and includes this autograph signed submission:

" To Fernand Léger
A voucher
for  good memories
Michel Seuphor
Paris VI, 1928.

After having discussed with the European avant-gardes and published the journal Het OverzichtMichel Seuphor left Antwerp and moved to Paris in 1925. He pays his first visit to Fernand Léger's studio and remains amazed at the Les Remorqueurs: "Squares are opposed to circles, solids to voids, flat and geometric shapes to tubular shapes, colours to non-colours, black to white".  Léger appreciates Seuphor and offers him the watercolour of a bird study for the Mechanical Ballet he's working on right now. The friendship between the two men will last for many years; Michel Seuphor, a fervent defender of Léger's work, will notably be at the origin of the painter's first collaboration with the Galerie Maeght during the exhibition "The Art of the Art of the Art of the Art of the Art of the Art of the Art of the Art of the Art of the Art of the Art of the Art of the Art of the Art of the Art of the Art".Abstract Art"in Paris in May 1949.

 

Seuphor Michel, A life at right angles, 1988.

 

Paris,Chez les écrivains réunis,1928.In-12, Softcover85 x 125 mm,251 pp.

The book contains three reproductions on glossy paper: two photographs by Glarner - one of which is a photomontage - and two photographs by Glarner. directed by Michel Seuphor and a photographic reproduction of André Kertesz. The latter is not present in the copy.

Little missing on the head of the back, slit at a restored bit, some rubbing, small folds at the cover, a restored angle.

Bio

Michel Seuphor

Ferdinand Louis Berckelaers

(Antwerp: 10 March 1901 - Paris: 12 February 1999)
Abstract painter, art critic and writer.

Librairie

Lecture élémentaire

192885 x 125 mm

TRÈS RARE ÉDITION ORIGINALE.
Envoi autographe signé à Fernand Léger.

1 500 

1 en stock

Description

Lecture élémentaire, Algèbre des facilités et tout le roman des lettres

RARE ÉDITION ORIGINALE.

L'ouvrage est considéré comme l'un des tous premiers essais de "littérature musicale", trente ans avant le premier emploi du terme poésie sonore.

Imprimée le 29 mai 1928, cette publication fut rapidement mise au pilon par l'imprimeur, à l’exception de quelques exemplaires donnés à l'auteur et d'une soixantaine d'autres rachetés par Jacques Povolozky. Ce dernier les commercialisa en apposant sur la page de titre l'étiquette de sa maison d'édition en lieu et place  de celle des Écrivains réunis, 11 rue de l'ancienne comédie, 11 Paris.

UN DES TRÈS RARE EXEMPLAIRES D'AUTEUR DONT LA PAGE DE TITRE EST RESTÉE À L'ADRESSE DES ÉCRIVAINS RÉUNIS.

Il fut donné par Michel Seuphor à Fernand Léger et comporte cet envoi autographe signé :

" Pour Fernand Léger
Bon pour
un bon
souvenir
Michel Seuphor
Paris VI, 1928.

Fort de ses échanges avec les avant-gardes européennes et de son rôle dans la publication la revue Het Overzicht,  Michel Seuphor quitte Anvers et s'installe à Paris en 1925. Il consacre sa première visite à l'atelier de Fernand Léger et reste ébahi devant Les Remorqueurs : "Les carrés s’opposent aux cercles, les pleins aux vides, les formes planes et géométriques aux modelés tubulaires, les couleurs aux non-couleurs, le noir au blanc ".  Léger apprécie Seuphor et lui offre l'aquarelle d'une étude d’oiseau pour le Ballet Mécanique sur lequel il est en train de travailler. L'amitié entre les deux hommes s'étendra sur de longues années ; Michel Seuphor fervent défenseur du travail de Léger, sera notamment à l'origine de la première collaboration du peintre avec la Galerie Maeght  lors de l'exposition "L’Art abstrait" à Paris en mai 1949.

 

Seuphor Michel, Une vie à angle droit, 1988.

 

Paris,Chez les écrivains réunis,1928.In-12, Broché,85 x 125 mm,251 pp.

L’ouvrage comporte trois reproductions sur papier glacé : deux photographies de Glarner – dont un photomontage réalisé par Michel Seuphor et une reproduction photographique d’André Kertesz. Cette dernière n’est pas présente dans l’exemplaire.

Petit manque en tête de dos, fente à un mors restaurée, quelques frottements, petits plis à la couverture, un angle restauré.

Bio

Michel Seuphor

Ferdinand Louis Berckelaers

(Anvers: 10 mars 1901 – Paris :  12 février 1999)
Peintre abstrait, critique d’art et écrivain.