Bookstore

Lettre signée à François Mitterrand

1974220 x 280 mm

GOLDA MEIR ASKS FRANÇOIS MITTERRAND TO INTERVENE TO GET THE ZIONIST ACTIVIST SYLVA ZALMANSON OUT OF THE GULAG.

2 300 

1 in stock

Description

Signed typed letter addressed to François Mitterrand, First Secretary of the Socialist Party.

GOLDA MEIR ASKS FRANÇOIS MITTERRAND TO INTERVENE TO GET THE ZIONIST ACTIVIST SYLVA ZALMANSON OUT OF THE GULAG.

"Dear Comrade and friend, knowing that you have to go to the Soviet Union very soon, I would like to ask you to add one more item to the list.... I would like to ask you to intervene on behalf of a young Jewish woman who was sentenced at the end of 1970 to 10 years of hard labour for having tried, with a group of friends, to leave for Israel illegally. You surely remember the "Leningrad trial". This young woman, Silva Zalmanson, aged 30, is in Camp 3 in Potma in the Autonomous Republic of Mordavia. (sic) ...what we want is for him to be allowed to leave for Israel... You know how much the situation of the Jews in the Soviet Union means to us."

Sylva Zalmanson had attempted to hijack a Soviet plane with her husband and a group of friends. Their story led to a film: Operation wedding. They were heavily condemned. When Sylva Zalmanson was released from prison in August 1974, a few months after this letter, she was able to leave for Israel. This date marked a turning point in the history of Soviet Jewish emigration to Israel.

LETTERS FROM GOLDA MEIR TO PROMINENT PEOPLE ARE VERY RARE.

Jerusalem, Prime Minister's Office, ,1974.in-4, Sheets,220 x 280 mm,1 page.

A typescript.

Bio

Golda Meir

גּוֹלְדָּה מֵאִיר - Golda Meirson - Golda Mabovitch

(Kiev: 3 May 1898 - Jerusalem 8 December 1978). She took part in the creation of the State of Israel, was Minister of Foreign Affairs and the fourth Prime Minister of Israel from 17 March 1969 to 11 April 1974.

François Mitterrand

(born on 26 October 1916 in Jarnac - Charente and died on 8 January 1996 in Paris 7e)

French statesman, President of the Republic from 21 May 1981 to 17 May 1995.

Librairie

Lettre signée à François Mitterrand

1974220 x 280 mm

GOLDA MEIR DEMANDE À FRANÇOIS MITTERRAND D’INTERVENIR POUR FAIRE SORTIR DU GOULAG LA MILITANTE SIONISTE SYLVA ZALMANSON.

2 300 

1 en stock

Description

Lettre dactylographiée signée adressée à François Mitterrand, Premier Secrétaire du Parti Socialiste.

GOLDA MEIR DEMANDE À FRANÇOIS MITTERRAND D’INTERVENIR POUR FAIRE SORTIR DU GOULAG LA MILITANTE SIONISTE SYLVA ZALMANSON.

"Cher Camarade et ami, sachant que vous devez vous rendre incessamment en Union soviétique, j’aimerais vous prier d’ajouter encore un sujet à la liste […] Il s’agit de demander d’intervenir en faveur d’une jeune femme juive, condamnée à la fin de 1970 à 10 ans de travaux forcés pour avoir tenté, avec un groupe d’amis, de partir pour Israël illégalement. Vous vous souvenez sûrement du “procès de Leningrad”. Cette jeune femme, Silva Zalmanson, âgée de 30 ans, se trouve au Camp 3 à Potma dans la République Autonome de Mordavie (sic) […] ce que nous désirons, c’est que la permission lui soit donnée de partir pour Israël […] Vous savez combien la situation des Juifs en Union Soviétique nous tient à cœur"

Sylva Zalmanson avait tenté de détourner un avion soviétique, avec son mari et un groupe d’amis. Leur histoire donna lieu à un fim : Operation wedding. Ils furent lourdement condamnés. À sa sortie d’emprisonnement en août 1974, soit quelques mois après cette lettre, Sylva Zalmanson put partir pour Israël. Cette date marqua un tournant dans l’histoire de l’émigration des Juifs soviétiques vers Israël.

LES LETTRES DE GOLDA MEIR ADRESSÉES À DES PERSONNAGES DE PREMIER PLAN SONT TRÈS RARES

Jérusalem, Cabinet du Premier Ministre, ,1974.in-4, En feuilles,220 x 280 mm,1 page.

Un feuillet tapuscrit.

Bio

Golda Meir

גּוֹלְדָּה מֵאִיר - Golda Meirson -  Golda Mabovitch

(Kiev :  3 mai 1898 – Jerusalem 8 décembre 1978). Elle a participé à la création de l’État d’Israël, a été ministre des Affaires étrangères, ainsi que le quatrième Premier ministre d’Israël du 17 mars 1969 au 11 avril 1974.

François Mitterrand

(né le 26 octobre 1916 à Jarnac – Charente et mort le 8 janvier 1996 à Paris 7e)

Homme d’État français, président de la République du 21 mai 1981 au 17 mai 1995.