Bookstore

L’Amour et l’Amitié

1939143 x 190 mm

FIRST EDITION
SIGNED AUTOGRAPH CONSIGNMENT
FROM THE LIBRARY OF THE BATTLESHIP RICHELIEU

120 

1 in stock

Description

ORIGINAL EDITION, press office copy printed on esparto, after 10 on Japon impérial and 23 on vellum pur fil.
Bergson, having read the novel, wrote to the author:

It is a psychological analysis of extreme penetration. It is also a most delicate moral study. You illuminate love and friendship by contrasting one with the other. And you express it all in a language that captures the finest nuances of thought and feeling.

An esteemed author between the wars, Abel Bonnard is better known today as a pen of the Collaboration, a Vichy minister and an agent of the fascisation of France.

FROM THE LIBRARY OF THE BATTLESHIP RICHELIEU provenance "Cuirassé Richelieu" at the foot of the spine, handwritten note on the 1st white endpaper "Carré off[iciers] subalt[ernes] / Richelieu / 1049".
SIGNED AUTOGRAPH CONSIGNMENT for the library of the battleship Richelieu :

For the Richelieu library, a tribute from an author who is very fond of French naval officers, because he prides himself on knowing them very well,
Abel Bonnard

The Richelieu, with its sister-ship the Jean Bart, was both the first 35,000-tonne battleship and the last French battleship. Built in 1935 to stand up to the Italian Littorio, she was originally designed only to operate in the Mediterranean - but on 14 June 1940, when the Richelieu was only 90% complete, the Germans bombarded the port of Brest. On 18 June, the battleship, still intact but still unfinished, left for Dakar. There, she was torpedoed and immobilised by the British. Under Vichy orders, she repelled Operation Menace in September, orchestrated by the British Royal Navy and Free France.
In 1943, under Allied control, the Richelieu sailed for New York to be repaired and modernised; passing under the Brooklyn Bridge forced the crew to dismantle the forward telepointer. The refitted Richelieu was designated to join the Eastern Fleet in the Indian Ocean. She took part in Operations Cockpit, Transom and Crimson. Her crew then fought against Japan alongside the East Indies Fleet, and were present at the Japanese surrender of Singapore on 12 September 1945. Finally, between October and December 1945, the Richelieu took part in the return of French forces to Indochina.
It was decommissioned in 1961 and scrapped 7 years later.

Paris,1939.In-12, Bound,143 x 190 mm,283 pp. - 2] ff.

Red half-maroquin, spine ribbed with gilt title and provenance at foot "Cuirassé Richelieu", speckled edges, bookmark. Binding signed "Taffin" on the 1st white endpaper.
Corners and edges rubbed.

Bio

Abel Bonnard

(Poitiers: 19 December 1883 - 31 May 1968: Madrid)

See The Works

Librairie

L’Amour et l’Amitié

1939143 x 190 mm

ÉDITION ORIGINALE
ENVOI AUTOGRAPHE SIGNÉ
DE LA BIBLIOTHÈQUE DU CUIRASSÉ RICHELIEU

120 

1 en stock

Description

ÉDITION ORIGINALE, exemplaire du service de presse imprimé sur alfa, après 10 sur Japon impérial et 23 sur vélin pur fil.
Bergson, ayant lu le roman, écrivait à l'auteur :

C'est une analyse psychologique d'une pénétration extrême. C'est aussi une étude morale des plus délicates. Vous éclairez  l'un par l'autre - en les opposant l'un à l'autre - l'amour et l'amitié. Et vous exprimez le tout dans une langue qui sait rendre les plus fines nuances de la pensée et du sentiment.

Auteur estimé dans l'entre-deux guerres, Abel Bonnard est aujourd'hui mieux connu comme plume de la Collaboration, ministre de Vichy et agent de la fascisation de la France.

DE LA BIBLIOTHÈQUE DU CUIRASSÉ RICHELIEU : provenance "Cuirassé Richelieu" en pied du dos, mention manuscrite sur la 1e garde blanche "Carré off[iciers] subalt[ernes] / Richelieu / 1049"
ENVOI AUTOGRAPHE SIGNÉ pour la bibliothèque du cuirassé Richelieu :

Pour la bibliothèque du Richelieu, hommage d'un auteur qui aime beaucoup les officiers de la marine française, parce qu'il se flatte de très bien les connaître,
Abel Bonnard

Le Richelieu, avec son sister-ship le Jean Bart, est à la fois le premier 35 000 tonnes et le dernier cuirassé français. Construit dès 1935 pour tenir tête aux Littorio italiens, il n'est originellement conçu que pour opérer en Méditerranée - mais le 14 juin 1940, alors que le Richelieu n'est terminé qu'à 90%, les allemands bombardent le port de Brest. Le 18 juin, le cuirassé, demeuré intact mais toujours inachevé, part pour Dakar. Là, il est torpillé et immobilisé par les britanniques. Passé sous les ordres de Vichy, il repousse en septembre l'Opération "Menace", orchestrée par la Marine royale britannique et la France libre.
En 1943, sous le contrôle des Alliés, le Richelieu appareille à New York pour y être réparé et modernisé ; le passage sous le pont de Brooklyn oblige l'équipage à démonter le télépointeur avant. Le Richelieu, refondu, est désigné pour rallier l'Eastern Fleet dans l'Océan indien. Il participe aux Opérations "Cockpit", "Transom" et "Crimson". Son équipage lutte ensuite contre le Japon aux côtés de l'East Indies Fleet ; il est présent à la capitulation japonaise de Singapour le 12 septembre 1945. Enfin, entre octobre et décembre 1945, le Richelieu participe au retour des forces françaises en Indochine.
Il est désarmé en 1961, et ferraillé 7 ans plus tard.

Paris,1939.In-12, Relié,143 x 190 mm,283 pp. - [2] ff..

Demi-maroquin rouge, dos à nerfs avec titre doré et provenance en pied « Cuirassé Richelieu », tranches mouchetées, signet. Reliure signée « Taffin » sur la 1e garde blanche.
Coins et coupes frottés.

Bio

Abel Bonnard

(Poitiers : 19 décembre 1883 – 31 mai 1968 : Madrid)

Voir Les Œuvres