Gallery

Unpublished portrait of a photography pioneer

Portrait d’Yvan

Photography,1855photography: 155 x 210 mm; paper: 195 x 253 mm

RARE UNPUBLISHED PORTRAIT, ENHANCED IN COLOUR, AUTOGRAPHED AND SIGNED IN AUGUST 1855.

3 000 

1 in stock

Description

RARE UNPUBLISHED PORTRAIT, ENHANCED IN COLOUR, AUTOGRAPHED AND SIGNED IN AUGUST 1855.

Born in April 1820, son of a printer and bookseller, Gaspard-Félix Tournachon alias Nadar, began working as a cartoonist and novelist for newspapers such as The Charivari. Close to members of the Parisian bohemian scene, Gérard de Nerval, Charles Baudelaire and Théodore de Banville, he switched from caricature to photography when his brother Adrien, who took photography lessons with Gustave Le Gray, opened a photography studio at 35 boulevard des Capucines.

After taking a few courses himself in 1854, he began photography as an amateur in his apartment at 113, rue Saint-Lazare. His first portraits of famous artists and writers date from this period. He temporarily interrupts this work in September when Adrien, whose studio is experiencing difficulties, asks him to join him.

But in January 1855, after a quarrel between the two brothers, Félix Nadar left his brother and opened his own commercial studio in the spring, producing portraits on salted mounted paper immediately recognizable by their 28 x 21 cm format.

This portrait of Yvan was made during Nadar's commercial beginnings.
Dated by Nadar in August 1855, this photograph has an elliptical shape similar to Berthelier's portrait of the same period in the Getty Museum collections.

The portrait has been enhanced in colour, which is particularly rare in Nadar's early works. We have been able to trace only one portrait from 1855 that was also enhanced, portrait of Henri Murger, (Collections of the Getty Museum).

This portrait does not appear in Nadar's archives, bought by the National Library of France, it has remained unknown to this day.

Finally, as Nadar's dedication indicates, Yvan was a friend [to my friend...but he hasn't been identified yet. A few hypotheses have been put forward about him, based on his costume: a circus artist, a profession that Nadar has often photographed? A foreigner dressed for the 1855 World's Fair?

 

1855.photography: 155 x 210 mm; paper: 195 x 253 mm,

Salted paper with paint highlights.

Some rubbing and cracking, small lacks in the lower left part.

Galerie

Portrait inédit d'un pionnier de la photographie

Portrait d’Yvan

Photographie,1855photographie : 155 x 210 mm ; papier : 195 x 253 mm

RARE PORTRAIT INÉDIT, REHAUSSÉ EN COULEUR DÉDICACÉ ET SIGNÉ EN AOÛT 1855.

3 650 

1 en stock

Description

RARE PORTRAIT INÉDIT, REHAUSSÉ EN COULEURS DÉDICACÉ ET SIGNÉ EN AOÛT 1855.

Né en avril 1820, fils d'un imprimeur et libraire, Gaspard-Félix Tournachon alias Nadar, commence à travailler comme caricaturiste et romancier pour des journaux comme Le Charivari. Proche des membres de la bohème parisienne,  Gérard de Nerval, Charles Baudelaire et Théodore de Banville, Il passe de la caricature à la photographie lorsque son frère Adrien, qui prend des cours de photographie avec Gustave Le Gray, ouvre un studio de photographie au 35 boulevard des Capucines.

Après avoir lui aussi suivi quelques cours en 1854, il commence la photographie en amateur dans son appartement du 113, rue Saint-Lazare. Ses premiers portraits d'artistes et d'écrivains célèbres datent de cette période. Il interrompt  temporairement ce travail en septembre, lorsque Adrien, dont le studio connait des difficultés, lui demande de s'associer avec lui.

Mais, en janvier 1855, après une querelle entre les deux frères, Félix Nadar quitte son frère et ouvre au printemps son propre studio commercial.Il produit alors des portraits  sur papier salé monté immédiatement reconnaissable par leur format de 28 x 21 cm.

Ce portrait d’Yvan fut réalisé durant les débuts commerciaux de Nadar.
Datée par Nadar août 1855, cette photographie a une forme elliptique semblable au portrait de Berthelier de la même période présent dans les collections du musée Getty.

Le portrait a été rehaussé en couleurs, ce qui est particulièrement rare dans les premières œuvres de Nadar. Nous n'avons pu retracer qu'un seul portrait de 1855 également rehaussé, portrait d'Henri Murger, (Collections du Getty Museum).

Ce portrait n'apparaît pas dans les archives de Nadar, achetées par la Bibliothèque nationale de France, il est resté inconnu jusqu'à ce jour.

Enfin, comme l'indique la dédicace de Nadar, Yvan était un ami [à mon ami] mais il n'a pu encore être identifié. Quelques  d'hypothèses ont été émises à son sujet, en se basant sur son costume : un artiste de cirque, métier que Nadar a souvent photographié ? Un étranger costumé pour l'exposition universelle de 1855 ?

 

1855.photographie : 155 x 210 mm ; papier : 195 x 253 mm,

Papier salé avec rehauts de peintures.

Quelques frottements et craquelures, petits manques dans la partie inférieure gauche.